Everything about the new Nord Drum and the Nord Beat 2 App.

Sending program change from ableton to nord drum 3p

Postby Prestosafe » 18 Jan 2017, 12:05

Hi guys! I am quite new to programming CC and stuff, so this might also be a noob question, but I can't really make sense of this from the manual (due to lack of experience Im sure).
Anyway, I have made a few songs now using my nord drum 3+ and rack 2x sequenced via ableton, where I play Live drums and nord drum to the synth sequences of the nord rack. But What I want to do is sen CCs from Ableton to my nord drum (and the rack 2x aswell) to change the sound banks from song to song/ scene to scene in my live set.

Lets say I go from scene 1 to scene 2 in my ableton set. In Scene 1 i play the ND3p patch A. 29, and in the the second scene I play the patch E . 11. How would I write that CC message? Any ideas? :)

Cheers!
Oskar
Prestosafe

Your Nord Gear #1: Other Brand

Sending program change from ableton to nord drum 3p

Sponsor

Re: Sending program change from ableton to nord drum 3p

Postby Nord-Drum-mer » 09 Apr 2017, 17:35

Hi!

There are a few things to be aware of:
!) this is an Ableton question, not an ND question
2) you want to send PC's not CC's

WHY?

Ableton is the thing sending the change data, ND is just receiving. PC = Program Change, CC = Continuous Controller or Control Change

HOW?

make a MIDI track in Ableton sending to the port and channel that your ND is connected to. Empty MIDI clips in the track will transmit appropriate PC's to the ND, which will change as instructed, assuming you have connected everything correctly.

Changing ND patches from Ableton Live.pdf
(123.48 KiB) Downloaded 327 times

I have done this and depended upon it live, so I know it works.

Ed
Nord-Drum-mer

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Drum

Postby StephMerchk » 22 Apr 2017, 17:45