Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Soft Sequencer

Postby Gchapman310 » 30 Mar 2017, 23:17

Wondered if anyone has any recommendations for a Software Sequencer/ MIDI Player to use with an Electra 5. I am fairly new to MIDI and am trying to drive some MIDI to my Electra 5 and clearly am struggling. I am not sure of the difference between a MIDI Channel and a Port. I'm using a USB to MIDI cable from a PC and have tried a number of freeware programs (best results so far from Sekaiju) - but can't ever seem to get all the tracks to play.
Gchapman310

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Soft Sequencer

Sponsor

Re: Soft Sequencer

Postby Quai34 » 31 Mar 2017, 01:36

Think about post as physical plug to insert a midi cable, input and output as well. On one port, could have a maximum of 16 midi channels...Which means that, if you need, in a multitimbral set up, more than 16 midi channels, you need to have a second midi port...For example, on some expanders, you have two midi in, so, 2 times 16 midi channels, 32 channels...Port A, midi channel 1, Port A, midi channel 2...etc...and then, Port B, midi channel 1, Port B, midi channel 2 etc...In any midi patchbay, you have more than one port. Midi via Usb could be considered as another port. Even the midi thru could be considered as a midi port kind of, because you can forward what is coming into the Midi port in, any parts. Let's say you set up your Piano engine to respond to midi channel 1 in your sequencer, midi channel 2 for organ and midi channel 3 parts, will go directly from your midi input to the midi thru...So, if you have an expander connected to this midi thru, your Electro will not respond to any part on midi channel 3 because you set up the Electro to respond only on midi channel 1 and 2, not midi channel 3. You could use up to 16 midi channel via USB and still use 16 channels via the 5 pins "normal" midi port.