Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Electro 5D vs. Kurzweil PC3a

Postby rockinroller » 29 Jan 2017, 15:31

Hello All: I am a Newbie on this site and contemplating being a Nord owner/user. I've admired the Electros for a few years and have noticed they are commonly used by professionals when I watch concerts on TV of rock-oriented bands. I've never played one (there are no retailers near me). I've been Kurzweil-ite for many years, since their PC3 model was introduced. I've owned their 61 and 76 note versions and currently have their Artis 7 board, which is a "baby brother" to the PC3 IMO. I appreciate its light weight (under 30 lbs --"light" as far as Kurz' boards go), and I was able to upload most of the quality sounds and mixes/splits, etc. from my PC3 days. However I normally perform with two keyboards, with the "right" one (I place them at right angles to each other, instead of stacking) usually dedicated to the ever-elusive Hammond Organ sound. Having been born and raised on the real deal back in the 1970s, it has been difficult for me to accept anything digital that attempts to emulate the organic sounds of the Hammond--and especially the Leslie speaker effect. The Kurz' did a decent job with its 9 drawbars in getting the Hammond-side of the equation covered (although I still maintain that the output was "thin" compared to the real deal, as though all the pitches represented in the drawbars were on a diet), and am asking any Nord 5d users whether they've had the opportunity to compare the B3 sounds on their instrument with the Kurzweil PC3. I know this is a subjective question and honestly I've created and saved a pretty accurate B3 setting off my PC3's and have it on my Artis 7. I'm just looking for near-perfection and wondering if Nord brings it.