Everything about the new Nord Drum and the Nord Beat 2 App.

Record with the Nord drum 2 & Nord Pad

Postby Turbulz » 09 Sep 2015, 04:50

Hello,

I've had the Nord drum 2 and Nord Pad for quite some time now. But I am a drummer and am really not used to record with MIDI, this is a complete new world for me. I've been losing alot of time trying to figure out how to properly record my Nord Drum in Cubase 7 Elements. Even though I read through the manual of the Nord Drum2, it confuses me instead of clarifying the matter.

I wish someone could help me and share how he/she records it and how I should proceed. Is it possible to record on 6 different channels? I have an audio interface which is the Audio Kontrol 1. I would like to record using the pad.

If you can refer me to any tutorial which would help me that would also be really kind.

Thanks.
Turbulz

Record with the Nord drum 2 & Nord Pad

Sponsor

Re: Record with the Nord drum 2 & Nord Pad

Postby wartaler » 09 Sep 2015, 21:41

Hi Turbulz!

Connect both MIDI in and out of your ND2 to the output and input of your interface respectively
In Cubase create a MIDI track with the correct ports of your MIDI interface selected..
Make sure the MIDI channel of your track in Cubase matches the global channel set on the ND2*
Select the track and arm recording (red circle) and engage monitoring (little speaker)
some basic Cubase stuff in this video: http://youtu.be/OaUQqNhPcZU

*on the ND2 go to the MIDI menu, press [SHIFT]+[MIDI] once, or a couple of times, until you see GL.XX (where XX= the global MIDI channel the ND2 sends and receives on, a value between 1 and 16, which can be set with the knob)
The MIDI channel here should match with the channel set in Cubase in the track settings