Everything about the Nord Piano, Nord Piano 2, Nord Piano 3, Nord Piano 4, Nord Piano 5, and the Nord Grand.

Nord Piano 2 HP 88 sound - help

Postby ssimmaraj » 30 May 2015, 09:36

Hi - I am a performing pianist / vocalist and my objective is to have a nice fat grand piano sound through an instrument that is portable and feels like a weighted piano. (Not really interested in all the bells and whistles - ie all the other sounds and effects).
I just purchased a Nord Piano 2. I tried the instrument through a small practice amplifier and also my gig PA gear (Roland compact power mixer and 15 inch speaker) - both are reliable units and I have put many digital pianos through them successfully. There seem to be some issues with the sounds from the Nord.
1. Inconsistency in the notes - whist doing a chromatic scale at some locations the notes turn fat and then slightly bright again.
2. When I hit the notes hard especially at the top end it is extremely bright, even when I have layered piano with a bass sound (sample no 39) and EQ the piano and the amplifier to a bass sound.
3. The sustain seems inconsistent at the top end - some notes don't sustain
4. The bass sounds very fat below middle c and above they seem to get naturally bright
5. There seems to be inconsistency in the volume of the keys some appear to be slightly louder than others
6. The top notes seem to have a large attack on them even though I have switched it off

I played my current Kawai right next to the Nord and the Kawai doesn't have any of the above problems.
Have other people found these issues? I cannot perform with the sounds and problems that I am getting.
Thanks in advance!
ssimmaraj

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 2

Nord Piano 2 HP 88 sound - help

Sponsor

Re: Nord Piano 2 HP 88 sound - help

Postby RedLeo » 30 May 2015, 11:34