Discuss other brands keyboards, synthesizers, modules, software, controllers including how they compare or work with the Nords.

A forum for agnostic synth descriptions

Postby veggie_delight » 03 Oct 2014, 20:03

Hello Nordists,

I'm fairly new to synths (currently about halfway through this excellent tutorial), but I frequently need to recreate keyboard sounds in pop songs. Looking around for advice and assistance, the Nord user forums have been tremendously helpful, and I've quickly and shamelessly pillaged the Programs forums for all of my favorite user-submitted programs. I'm anxiously awaiting the time that my synth skills allow me to start giving back and making my own contributions to this incredible resource.

What I'm finding, however, is that when keyboardists post their sounds, they are not keyboard/synth agnostic. In the Nord forums, fully constructed programs will be posted, but what good is that to a Korgist? As far as I know, the only way to expose the programming of that sound is to load it into a Nord.

So here's the dream. I'd love to see a forum in which users post details of the programming they used to build those sounds. For example:

Katy Perry - California Gurls
Saw wave
cutoff: 262 Hz
Low pass filter (24 dB)
etc etc etc...

A model like this would allow the entire synth community to contribute and collaborate, effectively crowd-sourcing the reproduction of the synth sounds in the songs we want to play. This could be an incredible resource. In fact, it's such an obvious idea that I figure one of the following must be true:

1. This resource already exists, and my Google skills aren't good enough to find it.
  2. There's some fundamental issue with the idea that I don't understand because I'm still a synth newbie.
But if neither of those are the case, then I am pretty dead set on putting that computer science degree to use and building a proper home for agnostic synth collaboration somewhere on the interwebs.