The Nord C1, C2 and C2D Organ Forum

The Right C2D monitor for the home

Postby Ole Plunkster » 26 Feb 2014, 15:03

Thank you all for a great forum. It helped me a lot in the short time I've been using it. I recently got a C2D to fulfill my lifelong desire to own a B3. I felt it was a better solution than contending with the mechanical complexities of the original.

By way of background, I am not a musician, neither by training nor talent, but I have a lot of fun playing with my C2D and had a keyboard years ago which I used with a sequencer, to my great joy, and everyone else's great consternation. Now that I have more time to dedicate to keyboard, I hope it's never too late to learn enough that I get requests other than "Use your headphones."

So I am here seeking your suggestions for an amp / speaker combination or active speaker[s] which I can use as a monitor for the C2D in my home.

I would not ever carry it to gigs, so compact size is not pre-requisite. It will stay put once it is positioned in my 55ft L x 32ft W x 25ft H open space Living Room / Dinning Room. All the surfaces of the room are "hard" and the "ceiling" is a barrel roof, so the space is very "live", with extended echo times. Generally, I have a preference for "bullet proof" products and have little patience for things which require maintenance. I have a pretty well developed ear, having been an audiophile for over 50 years. I like deep, defined bass but hate "boom". I prefer smooth, precise treble to the peaky treble exhibited by some speakers in an effort to achieve a sense of "clarity". Unlike many audiophiles I have no objection to well executed DSP.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience.
Ole Plunkster

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2D

The Right C2D monitor for the home

Sponsor

Re: The Right C2D monitor for the home

Postby cgiles » 26 Feb 2014, 16:23