Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Nord Rack 2X New 3 Digit Display Needed...

Postby Mr Misfit » 05 May 2013, 21:28

Hey there to everyone here. This is my first time here and I have come with a problem.

My Nord Rack 2X has come out of storage and the 3 digit display is not functioning properly. Only the 2 lines on the side of each number illuminate consistently. The rest either do not light, light very dimly or periodically light.

Is there a remedy for this or do I need to purchase a new display component? If so, where can I purchase one from and what is it called, component number etc.

Thanks a lot in advance to anyone who chooses to off any assistance here.

M
Mr Misfit

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 1/2/2x

Nord Rack 2X New 3 Digit Display Needed...

Sponsor

Re: Nord Rack 2X New 3 Digit Display Needed...

Postby mjbrands » 06 May 2013, 00:40

I expect the display is a fairly standard part; it looks like the rack and the keyboard version use the same display. I don't have a Nord Lead 2X anymore so can't check anything myself and I don't have any info on the type, nor was I able to find something with some quick googling (same as you, probably).

I think those three numbers are part of a single display, something like this one:

http://pt.farnell.com/lumex/ldt-m2806ri ... dp/2062178

Note the something in my previous sentence. I very much expect it to be a through-hole component. You'd need to find a part with the same footprint and size (can be done from the back of the PCB without taking the whole Rack apart). Additionally, you need to find out if it is a common anode (probably) or common cathode display and what the forward current and forward voltage are (you can measure these, but it may be easier to do this once the old display is removed).