Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Nord Rack2x + MIDI Controller (MPK49): How to assign knobs?

Postby livefastdieslow » 01 Oct 2012, 18:43

Hello,

I'm new to the world of Synths and Midi controllers so please take it easy on me for what is surely a stupid question for some of you more experienced users.

I have a Nord Rack2x and an Akai MPK49. I've had the Nord for a while and decided to upgrade controllers from the cheap M-Audio I had been using for years. The M-Audio didn't have any knobs so I never ran into this before.

I'm having a hell of a time figuring out how to assign the various functions of my Nord to the various knobs on the MPK49. The keys themselves work great of course, but all the knobs are whacky. This, I fully expected. But I didn't expect it would be so difficult to get them assigned to my Nord.

This is my first foray into such a thing and as such, I could very likely be missing a key step that would be obvious to a more experienced user. I've read the manuals but I can't to get the knobs to match up with anything on the Nord. This part seems very sparse on the info, or I just don't know what it's referring to. The knobs do make changes, but it's all unpredictable nonsense changes. I have yet to figure out how to actually make them work properly. I'm a complete n00b when it comes to this.

I'm pretty sure this is a process that I would need to initiate on the Nord and and then use the MPK to communicate back to it as to which knob adjusts which parameter.

Can anyone please break it down to me with an example? How do you map the parameters on the Nord Rack2x to the knobs on any given MIDI controller, such as an Akai MPK? As I said, I've read the manuals, but I just can't make sense of it, having basically zero experience with MIDI before.

Surely someone has used this awesome synth with a nice, knobby controller like the MPK49 and actually knows what they're doing! Help a brother out!