Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Nord Lead vs. Reason 10

Postby jgmathieu » 25 Mar 2018, 22:35

Since I have been exploring electronic music for the past 10 years and have considered purchasing a Nord Lead, I sort of have my doubts now that I am using Reason 10 platform along with my Nord Electro 5D. I don't perform in public anymore with my electronic gear and a lot of my synth work is done in my home studio. With my recent purchase of Reason 10, this DAW is very complete in its offerings of various synth instruments and sounds. Does anyone out there feel the same way? It is great to play out with a portable synth like the Nord Lead, but a $400. DAW is a lot cheaper than a $2000 Nord.
Any comments are welcome from musicians playing out with synth software too.
jgmathieu

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Nord Lead vs. Reason 10

Sponsor

Re: Nord Lead vs. Reason 10

Postby Quai34 » 26 Mar 2018, 09:57

Hi,
I had the exact same question 7 years ago when I restarted to play music after a 10 years break....Just to let you know, when I stopped playing music, it was Atari 1040 and Pro24 or Notator so, nothing like the super powerful DAWs of nowadays....But even at that time, after having spent a lot at home on my computer, doing a lot of composing and so on, I felt the need to play with other musicians and came back to play on a Jazz Band with 10 other fellow musicians....
So, keep in mind that music is first a way of expressing yourself and sharing emotion and that you finally get this only when you play with people for people....
That said, it comes to what you consider as a real music instrument....: