We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience. If you "ACCEPT" setting, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Accept
Everything about the Nord Wave Synthesizer

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Philip » 03 Aug 2015, 10:03

I think that a charged update is a good idea roberth909! I'd pay as well for that, Nord Wave is my favorite machine and i could pay to get an update. I've watched a lot of demos of the A1 and there's nothing we can't do with the Wave...Maybe the Wave was too good...anyway, i'll never sell it for another Nord Synth!
covertramp.com
facebook.com/pages/Covertramp/181164665406956
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CC7CebH ... e=youtu.be
User avatar
Philip
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 07 Sep 2013, 09:54
Location: Paris, France
Country: France
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Wave

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade


Sponsor
 

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Don Solaris » 12 Aug 2015, 18:05

RedLeo wrote:Frankly, that seems a bit mean-spirited. You're not the only person who would like to see Nord add "just this one little thing, surely it can't be that hard" and to expect a company to pander to your wishes

If you purchase a car that has faulty brakes i believe you want to notify the manufacturer! No??!

Has nothing to do with my "wishes and desires". I reported an actual bug. Something that comes to the embarrassment of its creator, not to my personal "wishes". All i did was report it, which essentially is helping company get its reputation. Since they don't care for fixing, that's fine with me. Plenty of other companies on the market!!
Last edited by Don Solaris on 12 Aug 2015, 18:33, edited 7 times in total.
User avatar
Don Solaris
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 23:59
Country: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Wave
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 3

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby RedLeo » 12 Aug 2015, 22:59

Don Solaris wrote:I reported an actual bug.


You're being plain dishonest here. In your first post and the title of your thread, you are asking for a software update to add a feature you would like to see:

Thread title: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Quote from the first paragraph of your first post:
Don Solaris wrote: A request is: to have one additional destination -> to both OSC1 and OSC2 at the same time.


When you didn't get what you wanted, you started to refer to the lack of this feature as bug, which, by your own words, it plainly is not.

I sincerely hope you are not telling people - you know, all those studio professionals hanging on your every word - that this is a bug, because that would be a flat-out lie.
RedLeo
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: 17 May 2011, 11:40
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 688 times

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby S h a w » 13 Aug 2015, 01:35

RedLeo wrote:
Don Solaris wrote:Which is why I stay away from all the new Nord products. And since I happen to meet a lot of folks in the studios i instruct all of them to do just the same.


Frankly, that seems a bit mean-spirited. You're not the only person who would like to see Nord add "just this one little thing, surely it can't be that hard" and to expect a company to pander to your wishes ahead of everyone else's is just unrealistic. If you refrained from buying every keyboard whose manufacturer doesn't jump to your demands, you wouldn't have anything left to play. And I certainly wouldn't take seriously anyone who advised me not to buy their products because the manufacturer didn't immediately rework their products to suit their own personal tastes. I mean, really? How's that work out for you with Roland or Yamaha?


Sorry I'm late to this conversation... 2 things: 1. What RedLeo said 2. Don, have you ever considered a modular system... I mean, whatever feature you want, patch it in -- there are modular manufactures today making every possible configuration of VCOs, DCOs, VCAs, Filters, .... and stuff that will likely never be a part of a Nord synth.

Good Luck!
Shaw ____________________________ :keyboard:
User avatar
S h a w
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 23 Jul 2015, 02:34
Location: Nashville, TN
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Don Solaris » 13 Aug 2015, 19:05

RedLeo wrote:
Don Solaris wrote:I reported an actual bug.


You're being plain dishonest here. In your first post and the title of your thread, you are asking for a software update to add a feature you would like to see:

This thread is indeed about Feature Request, that is correct!

But that is NOT the reason why i'm telling ppl to stay off Clavia. :!:

Please read:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electro ... -here.html
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/11255887-post130.html
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/11256040-post134.html
nord-wave-forum-f11/petition-for-nord-wave-os-upgrade-t6195.html#p39098
Last edited by Don Solaris on 13 Aug 2015, 19:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Don Solaris
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 23:59
Country: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Wave
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 3

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Don Solaris » 13 Aug 2015, 19:16

Philip wrote:I think that a charged update is a good idea roberth909! I'd pay as well for that, Nord Wave is my favorite machine and i could pay to get an update. I've watched a lot of demos of the A1 and there's nothing we can't do with the Wave...Maybe the Wave was too good...anyway, i'll never sell it for another Nord Synth!

+1

Downside is the traffic over here is so low i wonder would they take our request seriously with just a few ppl asking for an update.
User avatar
Don Solaris
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 23:59
Country: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Wave
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 3

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby S h a w » 13 Aug 2015, 21:29

Philip wrote:I've watched a lot of demos of the A1 and there's nothing we can't do with the Wave...


But that's actually not true. What I mean is this: the analog modeling and DSP on the A1 is much more capable than what was installed in the Wave. And when you consider that the A1 came out 7 years after the Wave, that makes sense. So while Phillips comments may be true from a modulation standpoint (which it really isn't because the A1 has four slots, and the Wave only has two -- and yes, I realize that you cannot cross modulate between slots, but similar effects can still be achieved in some cases), from the standpoint of sound quality, one might say: "the Wave cannot do anything that A1 can do".

Don't get me wrong, I still love the wave for the ability to add sampled sounds into the mix with subtractive synthesis.... And yes, Clavia, please make another one.

Cheers!
Shaw ____________________________ :keyboard:

The author S h a w was thanked by:
pablomastodon
User avatar
S h a w
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 23 Jul 2015, 02:34
Location: Nashville, TN
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Philip » 14 Aug 2015, 10:41

Well, my experience with that is that i create sounds, search sounds on the web, compare, play on stage with these sounds and with musicians(and see they're positive reactions with the wave...). It's the only way for me to talk about synths. Sounds talk!! It's not because the A1 got this or this DSP that you'll get better sounds. Of course, it's a matter a taste. I've watched hundreds videos about the A1 and the wave and for the first time of my life with synthesizers (I had a lot...), it's the first time i can really create what i want with the wave.
But of course you're right, A1 is a good machine but you can't add samples inside so, much less possibilities...

And to stay in the topic, I've sent an email to Clavia about our wishes for Nord Wave upgrade, if we're numerous to do that, maybe they'll make an effort...
covertramp.com
facebook.com/pages/Covertramp/181164665406956
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CC7CebH ... e=youtu.be
User avatar
Philip
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 07 Sep 2013, 09:54
Location: Paris, France
Country: France
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Wave

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Don Solaris » 01 Oct 2015, 21:45

Bug fixed! Just finished the beta testing of the new OS.

Feature that i requested will not be implemented though. Maybe some other time.

OS will be available to the public very soon.
User avatar
Don Solaris
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 23:59
Country: Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Wave
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 3

Re: A wish for Nord Wave OS upgrade

Postby Android » 06 Oct 2015, 00:39

Nord Wave update, with a special thanks to Don Solaris! I hope you kept your Wave! :) I'm loading it tonight!

v2.10

"Added support for .nsmp format 2.0. Sample category is now shown in the display during selection.
Fixed bug where routing LFO 1 to OSC 2, while having the MOD ENV routed to OSC 1+2 would cause the MOD ENV to cease modulating OSC 2. Thanks to Don Solaris for the report!"

Thanks Don!!!! Thanks Clavia!
Stage EX88
Modular G2X
Wave
Lead 3
Lead 2X
Motif Rack XS
:keyboard:
User avatar
Android
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 16 Aug 2011, 09:10
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Wave

PreviousNext

Return to Nord Wave Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests