General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Using mainstage with nord stage ex

Postby Tobes » 25 Sep 2012, 13:07

Hi,
I've just started using mainstage and want to run it through my nord stage ex, I have a midi to USB cable with send and receive. The problem Im having is that mainstage is picking it up but it's all coming out the computer and not the nord and the extern section doesn't seem to pick it up at all. I'm pretty new to this whole midi thing and any help would be greatly appriciated.
Cheers
Tobes

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX

Using mainstage with nord stage ex

Sponsor

Re: Using mainstage with nord stage ex

Postby Johannes » 25 Sep 2012, 13:34

Hi Tobes and welcome to the forum!
I am not sure what exactly the problem with your setup is, but given it receives MIDI, sending it back to the EX should be the easier part. Just make sure to check all MIDI settings. A good way to start is the Manual or this MIDI Tutorial for the NS EX: the Nord Stage and MIDI
FIrst, you have to define what you want: having separate midi channels for different instruments or just one for all (easier).
If you still have problems, maybe you could specify what exactly you want that does not work!
Cheers!
Johannes
Administrator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Postby mjbrands » 25 Sep 2012, 19:44

Wow, how completely non-obvious to set up. You'd almost think it was based on Logic. Oh, wait...

Maybe you already knew how to do it, but it took me some time to figure out.

Step 1: locate the 'Add channel strip button'

Step 2: create a new channel strip (choose 'External instrument' and then the right MIDI port/channel)

Step 3: profit!!