We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience. If you "ACCEPT" setting, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Accept
General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), and Nord Stage 3 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby stuartoMVF41000S » 05 Jan 2015, 20:12

Additional info on synth sample slot random gunshot sound problems. It doesn't matter what outputs are used it happens on all including headphones out (not pleasant at all). It is now happening on slots as low as 120. I am exchanging this NS2 for a replacement since the 30 day limit is almost up to do so. I'll post whether the same problem occurs with the replacement or if it is fixed.
stuartoMVF41000S
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 05:53
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs


Sponsor
 

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby stuartoMVF41000S » 10 Jan 2015, 11:17

My new replacement NS2 arrived today. It has the same problem, but with some interesting differences. With the first one I worked with the piano sounds first. I used the Nord Sound manager to delete some pianos I didn’t like, downloaded pianos from the library I wanted to try, etc. I did that with the electric pianos, organs, etc. and went to samples last. When I got to samples and downloaded additional samples I could never fit more than 140 samples. This time I went to samples first and was able to download an additional 38 for a total of 154 slots being in use and I still had room for more. I started playing a sample in location 154 and went back to slot 145 which sounded good to me. I played for a couple minutes and got a nasty explosive sound like before. The behavior is the same, although the nasty explosive sound is a little different sounding.

It should be noted that I was told by one of Nord's tech representatives here in the USA, "This phenomenon has been observed on 4-5 instruments worldwide recently.". They want me to swap my main board for a new tested main board as a first attempt to fix this. I speculate that this may be a combination software and hardware problem. Where current boards are slightly different exposing a software bug. Well this phenomenon has now been observed on 2 more instruments... :-)
stuartoMVF41000S
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 05:53
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby Mr_-G- » 10 Jan 2015, 13:32

How much sample memory available have you got? That is the main issue.
I bet you are reaching the limit. In that case the *number* of samples is irrelevant if you do not have enough space to load any more. I have 183 in my NS2, so obviously 140 is not a limit, but the space they take is.
Piano RAM and synth sample RAM are independent in the NS2, so they won't affect each other, but they are both finite.
User avatar
Mr_-G-
Moderator
 
Posts: 3004
Joined: 18 Aug 2012, 16:48
Has thanked: 849 times
Been thanked: 796 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby stuartoMVF41000S » 29 Mar 2015, 07:57

The explosive sounds problem with the Synth section using downloaded samples added to the sample memory problem has been fixed (I reported on this problem back in December 2014). Nord sent a replacement mainboard to a local authorized repair business last month, but I didn't take the NS2 in until a couple weeks ago due to bad weather. After using the NS2's synth section for the last few days - uploading, downloading, deleting samples - I have not had any problems.
stuartoMVF41000S
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Jun 2014, 05:53
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby gillesneguse » 20 Aug 2015, 14:35

i have the nord stage ex and my effects don't work ,after a moment of working and not ,i'm staying in a country very humid, is it the problem........thanks,,,
gillesneguse
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 01:30
Country: Eritrea
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby pablomastodon » 20 Aug 2015, 20:42

This post belongs in a new thread and not here where few people will see it.

Humidity is not known to cause problems. I live in Florida, which is also extremely humid, especially now in rainy season with torrential downpours every day.

me’elkam edil,

Bless,

Pablo
bun fyah weh fyah fi bun
User avatar
pablomastodon
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 3960
Joined: 30 Apr 2010, 20:45
Location: pablo.mastodon@americanmusicandsound.com
Country: Jamaica
Has thanked: 1636 times
Been thanked: 1611 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Wave

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby exp68x » 14 Oct 2015, 06:17

Help:
Has any one experienced a sound spike while playing a Stage 2, it happens intermittently all cables,pedal and mixing board to powered speakers have been changed as well as a AC power conditioners. It is very distressing at high Volumes, sound like a live instrument cable being put in an amp.

Thanks for any help

********Pablo Mastodon, Nord Tech Support Canada/USA, contacted me with in hours identified and provided options to resolved the Issue.*******

Amazing Customer Support!!
Thanks again Pablo
Last edited by exp68x on 14 Oct 2015, 23:11, edited 1 time in total.
exp68x
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Oct 2015, 06:07
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby Larrybee » 24 Oct 2015, 12:54

Help
Sorry If i am being stupid...... I have just purchased a Nord Stage 2 EX73. Turned it on, connected to amp ( tested lead and amp both work) .
All the lights have turned red but no buttons respond.
Tried updating software but can't connect and my mac can't find keyboard.
I will contact the shop I bought it from but they are shut this weekend and I can't seem to find anyone who can help.
My son needs to use it to play a gig soon Is there something i'm missing ?
Larrybee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Oct 2015, 12:30
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2 EX

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby maxpiano » 24 Oct 2015, 14:18

Larrybee wrote:Help
Sorry If i am being stupid...... I have just purchased a Nord Stage 2 EX73. Turned it on, connected to amp ( tested lead and amp both work) .
All the lights have turned red but no buttons respond.
Tried updating software but can't connect and my mac can't find keyboard.
I will contact the shop I bought it from but they are shut this weekend and I can't seem to find anyone who can help.
My son needs to use it to play a gig soon Is there something i'm missing ?


This is not normal at all, probably some connector on the mainboard got disconnected during transport, bring it back to the shop and have it replaced/fixed.
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 2025
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 695 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: List of Nord Stage 2 known issues/bugs

Postby Mr_-G- » 24 Oct 2015, 22:18

Does it sound through headphones?
Which connectors are you using to connect to the amp? Which outputs have been assigned?
Can you change patches?
User avatar
Mr_-G-
Moderator
 
Posts: 3004
Joined: 18 Aug 2012, 16:48
Has thanked: 849 times
Been thanked: 796 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

PreviousNext

Return to Nord Stage Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jdwosh, kbrkr, Obwanz and 7 guests