Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 3HP, and Electro 4D, 4HP and 4 SW 73.

Splitting the keyboard

Postby FloydianNM » 17 Mar 2012, 04:43

Forgive me as I'm sure this has been asked before, but I'm looking to split my Nord Electro 3 (for the doors - I want to create some patches where the bottom 2 octaves are rhodes, and the upper keys are vox/harpsichord/electra, etc. Does anyone have any resources on how to accomplish this? Do I need to use the Nord sample editor?
Last edited by FloydianNM on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 2 times in total.
FloydianNM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Mar 2012, 04:38
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3

Splitting the keyboard


Sponsor
 

Re: Splitting the keyboard

Postby rb4u1 » 17 Mar 2012, 07:36

The E3 is not multitimbral. As you suggested you would have to create your own sample.
I have not done this so I can't really help with that.
Good luck,
Last edited by rb4u1 on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 2 times in total.
rb4u1
 
Posts: 464
Joined: 30 Apr 2011, 06:33
Location: Maryland
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 86 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 4

Re: Splitting the keyboard

Postby bdodds » 17 Mar 2012, 08:35

You basically want to do what Hanon did here:

nord-user-samples-nsmp-samples-f14/piano-and-marimba-split-needed-asap-t2485.html

The Stage is the keyboard that's designed to easily do this type of thing, but the sample feature of the E3 makes it possible to a certain extent now. What you'd need to do is basically sample the notes you want top and bottom and then load that as a sample. You can find the raw samples and the project file for the Sample Editor for the lower notes of two Rhodes Piano Basses I sampled a whlie back here:

post12956.html

and here:

nord-user-samples-nsmp-samples-f14/1964-rhodes-fiesta-red-piano-bass-t1103.html

You can use one of those as a base to start your split. All you would need to do would be to sample the organ the way you want it, loop the samples appropriately and map them to notes. If you want more flexibility in terms of changing the organ sound live, well, that's Stage terriotory there. Good luck!
Last edited by bdodds on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 3 times in total.
clavia ddrum4
nord lead rack 2
nord electro 73 (sold!)
nord stage classic 88 (sold!)
nord electro 3 73 (sold!)
nord stage 2 compact
User avatar
bdodds
Moderator
 
Posts: 719
Joined: 02 Jun 2011, 08:46
Location: Leesburg, VA, US
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 169 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: Splitting the keyboard

Postby FloydianNM » 17 Mar 2012, 09:03

Thank you bdodds. We just played a bunch of Doors songs and I pretty much just want to buy a rhodes bass now to play along with the electro
Last edited by FloydianNM on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 2 times in total.
FloydianNM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Mar 2012, 04:38
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3

Re: Splitting the keyboard

Postby bdodds » 17 Mar 2012, 09:21

That would also work, but probably not cost effective..

whoa, just checked ebay.. maybe i should sell my Fiesta Red one? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Fender-Rhodes-P ... 0705280250
Last edited by bdodds on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 2 times in total.
clavia ddrum4
nord lead rack 2
nord electro 73 (sold!)
nord stage classic 88 (sold!)
nord electro 3 73 (sold!)
nord stage 2 compact
User avatar
bdodds
Moderator
 
Posts: 719
Joined: 02 Jun 2011, 08:46
Location: Leesburg, VA, US
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 169 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: Splitting the keyboard

Postby simonbeck » 20 Mar 2012, 01:17

Of course, another limitation of using a sample set for the Doors' Rhodes/Vox split is that the NE3 offers no way of adding vibrato to the organ sound - sampled vibrato always sounds wrong, and there is no on-board effect that sounds like Vox vibrato. Just thought I'd mention it.
Last edited by simonbeck on 31 Jul 2012, 12:30, edited 2 times in total.
Communication is everything
User avatar
simonbeck
FAQ Editor
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 24 Sep 2011, 20:55
Location: London, UK
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 33 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3


Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests