We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience. If you "ACCEPT" setting, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Accept
The Nord C1, C2 and C2D Organ Forum

High level output?

Postby Bertotti » 31 Jan 2013, 04:49

I was reading the C2D info on the Nord site and see it has the 1 pin Leslie out and L/R outs and a 1/4" high level out. What is this high level out? What do you use it for a d where can it not be used? Wouldn't a second set of stereo outs be more useful? I would think two sets of stereo out would be good but the. Again I do t understand this high level out. This is just my curiosity as I still haven't acquired a Nord of my own.:(
Bertotti
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 14 Jan 2012, 00:23
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

High level output?


Sponsor
 

Re: High level output?

Postby flmc59 » 31 Jan 2013, 13:37

It is used when you want to connect to a old style leslie that has been given a 1/4" input.
My 145 is like this and i use the high out jack all the time
flmc59
 
Posts: 326
Joined: 04 Jan 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 88 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C1
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby Bertotti » 31 Jan 2013, 14:53

Oh I didn't know. I have never been around a real Leslie! Thanks!
Bertotti
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 14 Jan 2012, 00:23
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: High level output?

Postby dynanord » 31 Jan 2013, 18:51

Hey.

I use the high level output as a normal mono out.
My chain is: C2 Hi-out 1/4" -> tube preamp -> Leslie preamp II with 9 pin cable -> Leslie
Some people say that they don´t use the Hi-out because they are afraid to
blast their amps... :?

Sometimes I wonder about this question.
I simply don´t want to use the build in LeslieSim.

Any suggestions on this issue? :wtf:
Last edited by dynanord on 31 Jan 2013, 18:53, edited 1 time in total.

The author dynanord was thanked by:
Mooser
dynanord
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:16
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby ben2veld » 01 Feb 2013, 18:10

Hello,

I use a jack kabel > right output Nord C2D > into my leslie Pre amp II
Than a 9 pin cable from the pre amp II to my Leslie 760.

I've tried the high level output. Give you more volume.
I don't need it live.

The author ben2veld was thanked by:
dynanord
ben2veld
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 09 Aug 2012, 21:21
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2D

Re: High level output?

Postby Mooser » 01 Feb 2013, 18:52

I believe the Nord organ is actually mono, it's the "sim" which is stereo.

Many of the vintage Leslies were designed to be driven by the speaker-amp output of an organ. A few volts (instead of line level aprox a 1/2 volt) at a very low impedance. This is what the "Hi-level" out put delivers.

I have begun to use the "left" and "right" line level outputs like this: one goes to the Leslie, the other goes to a stationary reverb amp. (an amp with reverb, or a digital reverb and then an amp.) Turn off the reverb in the Nord, and now the reverb isn't "spun" any more. And that does sound better. Better than no reverb (way too dry), and IMO much better than "spun" reverb. And the reverb amp doesn't need to be monstrous. And I do believe most digital reverbs include an emulation of Hammond spring-reverb. Mine does, and it was a cheapie "Zoom"

If I had known, I would have ordered my C2 without the reverb and sim. I don't use them, and they're just more knobs to twist by mistake.

The author Mooser was thanked by:
dynanord
Mooser
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 07 Oct 2011, 20:01
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby dynanord » 01 Feb 2013, 21:55

"If I had known, I would have ordered my C2 without the reverb and sim. I don't use them, and they're just more knobs to twist by mistake."

That´s what I´m thinking too ! The Hi out doesn´t care about this "sim knob"...
The 760 is REALLY loud enough, there´s no need for extra volume or higher voltage :shock:

Personally I think the C2 has got very good delays and reverbs for playing live. I wouldn´t use my (middle class) Lexicon efx rack instead of it.
My Hohner Leslie clone has a real spring reverb and I like this vintage vibe. Unfortunately I will sell it the next weeks.
To split the C2´s outputs into a dry and a wet channel is a nice option, only I would have more cables weaving my little music room.

Tomorrow I will test the "mono capacities" of the stereo outs and figure out its advantages. :P

The author dynanord was thanked by:
Mooser
dynanord
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:16
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby flmc59 » 02 Feb 2013, 01:03

If you turn off the sim then all three outputs L+R and high are mono.
The 11 pin should be able to interface a 760 without the preamp II. You need an 11 to 9 pin cable. Google for a drawing.
Mooser is spot on about the reverb. The RV leslies has the reverb signal presented on two stationar 6x9 speakers (almost like carstereo).
Reverb in a Lelsie sounds wierd when you use a lot of it.
/Frederick

The author flmc59 was thanked by 2 members, including:
Mooserdynanord
flmc59
 
Posts: 326
Joined: 04 Jan 2012, 01:11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 88 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C1
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby dynanord » 02 Feb 2013, 10:12

"The 11 pin should be able to interface a 760 without the preamp II"

When I connect them directly I can not use my tube preamp (1/4" jack in & out) and get a way more clean sound. Of course the C2 has a nice overdrive
too, but it´s not the same.
If I was well playing studio organist (with an eye on real-Leslie-authenticity) I would definitely prefer the 2-channel reverb like Mooser. So for my needs and with a very little amount of reverb through the rotary I´m fine with it ;)
Thanks to you guys !!!
dynanord
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:16
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord C2

Re: High level output?

Postby PeterBa » 03 Feb 2013, 22:49

Mooser wrote:I believe the Nord organ is actually mono, it's the "sim" which is stereo


Correct, the B3, vox and farfisa are mono, but the pipe organ is stereo. At least the samples are placed individually from left to right (bass more or less tot the left and high notes on the right), the samples itself are possibly in mono.

Peter

The author PeterBa was thanked by:
Mooser
PeterBa
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 02:36
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Nord C1 / C2 / C2D Organ Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest